National Film Awards recipients to boycott ceremony as President to give only 11 awards

The 65th National Film Awards ceremony is to be held today on May 3. This is a platform where the Directorate of Film Festivals presents its annual National Film Awards to honor the best films in Indian cinema. 

But, this time, the winners are disappointed after knowing that the President Ram Nath Kovind will present only 11 awards and the rest will be handed over their awards by the Information and Broadcasting Minister Smriti Irani. There are about sixty artists to skip the award function just after knowing that the 65 years of tradition is being overturned suddenly, even before any prior information. 

The filmmakers are extremely saddened and will not attend the ceremony to convey their discontent and are also waiting for a solution. 

Tags : Ram Nath Kovind Smriti Irani Film Festivals National Film Awards 65th National Film Awards